Reading Roadrunners Cross Country


Reading Roadrunners enter two Cross Country Leagues each season, the Hampshire League on Saturdays and the Thames Valley League on Sundays

Hampshire Cross Country League 2017/2018 – Saturdays

This league runs on Saturdays, and will start on 14th October, in King’s Park, Bournemouth. The ladies will race 6k at 1.35; the men will race 10k at 2.30. Club kit must be worn. We did really well in this league last season, and would like to do so again. We need at least 3 ladies per fixture, and 4 men, or we will not have a full team.

These races are prepaid; the only condition you must comply to is to wear club colours. We desperately need runners for these events, please see your team captain.

2017/2018 Fixture Details

14th Oct 17 Kings Park  Bournemouth
11th Nov 17 QE Country Park  Petersfield
2nd Dec 17 Popham Airfield
13th Jan 18 Prospect Park,  Reading
10th Feb 18 Aldershot

If you would like to compete in any of the fixtures in this league, please contact, as names and EA numbers would ideally be submitted before the start of the season. Lift-sharing should be possible, if transport is an issue.

Results can be found on the HCCL website

Thames Valley Cross Country League 2017/2018 – Sundays

This will begin on Sunday 8th October. All fixtures are at 11am, and the cost for club members is £3, payable on the day. Non-members may also run, for £4. Club members must wear club kit to be able to score for the team. We didn’t do as well in this league last season as we have done previously, so we would like to get back to our winning ways.

A scoring team will consist of 6 male runners (including a minimum of 2 vets) and 4 female runners (including at least 1 vet). Each scoring member will contribute a point score equal to their position within their gender. Full rules at

Details of our own XC Club Championship for this year will be posted soon.

At each fixture, we will need two people to collect money and record the scores for each member, or we will not be able to participate. Please let Katie Gumbrell know if you can help, or email

TVXC Rules

2017/2018 TVXC League Fixture Dates

8th Oct 17 Metros
12th Nov 17 Datchet Dashers
26th Nov 17 Sandhurst Joggers
3rd Dec 17 Handy Cross Runners
14th Jan 18 Reading Roadrunners  Ashenbury park – Woodley
21st Jan 18 Tadley
4th Feb 18 Bracknell Forest Runners

Video of Reading Roadrunners’ 14th Jan 18 TVXC event can be viewed here.

SEAA XC Relays
The SEAA XC relays will take place on Saturday, 21st October, at Wormwood Scrubs. The ladies will race 3 legs of 3k at 2pm, and the men, 4 legs of 5k, at 2.30. I will need to enter teams by 6th October, so please email if you are interested.

Berkshire, Buckinghamshire & Oxfordshire XC Champs
The BBO Champs will take place on Sunday, 19th November, at Prospect Park. Full entry details to follow, but the ladies would race 6k at 11.30, and the men, 9.6k at 12.15.

Masters XC Champs
The SEAA Masters XC Championships will take place on Saturday, 9th December, at Horspath, Oxford. I will be looking to enter teams of 3 in the over 40s, over 50s and over 60s categories. Over 70s may enter as individuals (and run for another age category), but there will be no team event at this age.

Timings and distances are:
11:00am – Men 50 plus, 60 plus – 10km
11:43am – Women 40 plus, 50 plus, 60 plus, Men 70 plus – 6km
2:10pm – Men 40 plus – 10km

Berkshire XC Champs
The Berkshire XC Champs will take place on Sunday, 17th December, at Prospect Park. Full entry details, distances and timings to follow.


Reading Roadrunners Sunday League Cross Country Championship

The results of the RR Sunday League Cross Country Championships are now available on the link below. Well done to everyone that took part in this league.

2017/2018 Results PrizeWinners
2015/2016 Results
2014/2015 Results
2013/2014 Results
2012/2013 Results
2011/2012 Results
2010/2011 Results

Team Captains: Ladies : Sam Walley– Men : Phil Reay

To represent your team and to score in all cross country fixtures you must wear club colours. see club kit page.